Housing hotline 888-909-0130—for more covid resources click here

Legal Services Alabama

legal services Alabama

Annual Justice, Fairness and Hope Awards

SAVE THE DATE: MAY 4th, 2022

Join us for a virtual celebration to honor Alabama changemakers who have advanced access to justice. Each year, LSA recognizes advocates from around the state whose work embodies our values of Justice, Fairness and Hope.

All ticket donations directly support the endowment of our John Lewis Legal Fellowship fund.

Taze Shephard, Esq., President
Legal Services Alabama
Tommy Wells Esq., Maynard Cooper Law Firm
Mary Margaret Bailey Esq., Frazer Greene Law Firm

2021 Recipients

Tommy Wells Justice Award
Judge John England
presented by Tommy Wells

Pro Bono Fairness Award
Beasley Allen Law Firm
presented by Mary M. Bailey

John Lewis Hope Award
Stacey Abrams
presented by Dr. Bernard Lafayette

LSA launched the John Lewis Legal Services Fellowship program in the spring of 2019, in preparation for the 55th Anniversary of the signing of the Voting Rights Act. We understood that the forefront of this movement was a student leader from Alabama, John Lewis, whose bravery, dedication, and hard work will forever be engraved in the fabric of our country's history. Congressman John Lewis dedicated his life to protecting human rights, securing civil liberties, and building what he called "The Beloved Community" in America. In the spring of 2020, LSA began a national search for the first John Lewis Fellows, resulting in 6 law students from across the country committed to providing free legal assistance to individuals in underserved and underrepresented communities to ensure equal access to justice for all citizens in Alabama.

2020 Recipients

Tommy Wells Justice Award
Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Pro Bono Fairness Award
Attorney Mary Margaret Bailey

John Lewis Hope Award
Congressman John Lewis,
accepted posthumously by Henry Grant Lewis