Legal Services Alabama

legal services Alabama

Annual Justice, Fairness and Hope Awards

MAY 11th, 2023

12:00 PM CST

RSA Activity Center
201 Dexter Ave, Montgomery, AL 36104

Join us for a luncheon celebration to honor Alabama changemakers who have advanced access to justice. Each year, LSA recognizes advocates from around the state whose work embodies our values of Justice, Fairness and Hope.

All sponsorships and ticket donations directly support the endowment of our John Lewis Legal Fellowship fund.

Individual tickets and tables for 8 available.

2023 Host Committee

Tommy Wells, Honorary Chair
Maynard, Cooper & Gale
Mary Margaret Bailey
Frazer Greene
Alexia Borden
Alabama Power
Judge John England
Fred Gray
Gray, Langford, Sapp, McGowan, 
Gray, Gray & Nathanson
Dawn Hathcock
Alabama Law Foundation
Josh Hayes
Prince Glover Hayes
Ted Hosp
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama
Tom Methvin
Beasley Allen
Yvonne Saxon
LSA Board President
John Saxon
Saxon Attorneys
Lucy Tufts
Cunningham Bounds

2023 Recipients

Tommy Wells Justice Award
Senator Richard Shelby

Taze Shepard Pro Bono Fairness Award
Taze Shepard, posthumously

John Lewis Hope Award
Merceria Ludgood

LSA launched the John Lewis Legal Services Fellowship program in the spring of 2019, in preparation for the 55th Anniversary of the signing of the Voting Rights Act. We understood that the forefront of this movement was a student leader from Alabama, John Lewis, whose bravery, dedication, and hard work will forever be engraved in the fabric of our country's history. Congressman John Lewis dedicated his life to protecting human rights, securing civil liberties, and building what he called "The Beloved Community" in America. In the spring of 2020, LSA began a national search for the first John Lewis Fellows, resulting in 6 law students from across the country committed to providing free legal assistance to individuals in underserved and underrepresented communities to ensure equal access to justice for all citizens in Alabama.

2022 Recipients

Tommy Wells Justice Award
LaVeeda Battle

Pro Bono Fairness Award
John Brinkley

John Lewis Hope Award
Fred Gray

Thank you to our 2023 Justice, Fairness, & Hope Awards Sponsors

2021 Recipients

Tommy Wells Justice Award
Judge John England

Pro Bono Fairness Award
Beasley Allen Law Firm

John Lewis Hope Award
Stacey Abrams

2020 Recipients

Tommy Wells Justice Award
Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Pro Bono Fairness Award
Attorney Mary Margaret Bailey

John Lewis Hope Award
Congressman John Lewis,
accepted posthumously by Henry Grant Lewis